Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)

I was quite reluctant to go and see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, but I’m so glad that I did. This was most probably the sweetest film in a long time. Definitely a must see (even if you didn’t particularly like Harry Potter).

Firsty – these creatures! Oh my god! They were the cutest thing ever! Especially the niffler. Go and see at least for the sake of the niffler! It’s impossible not to like him. Secondly, there were a lot of comedy elements. The Harry Potter films were more on the depressive side, but this film was quite light (it most probably will get darker during the next parts, though).

What I didn’t like was Colin Farrell’s plotline. I had such high hopes for his character! I really wanted him to be as ambiguous as Severus Snape, so the real plot twist was a real disappointment. I don’t think I have got over it yet. And I wasn’t very fond of so much time being allocated to the American Ministry – it could have been cut shorter.

However, as I already said, this is a wonderful film. It will entertain everyone who goes to see it and for Harry Potter fans, well, for us it will be like coming home after a long journey. And did I mention the niffler?

Leave a comment