The Girl on the Train (2016)

If I had to describe The Girl on the Train using one word, it would be boring. However, I didn’t particularly like the book either, so perhaps the film simply didn’t stand a chance with me.

I didn’t expect the film to be so weak, since the cast had some pretty great names (I, for one, went there for Luke Evans and Rebecca Ferguson), but the two hours lasted an eternity.

Firstly, I don’t enjoy films with a lot of flashbacks and this one seemed to thrive on them.  At some point it became confusing. Secondly, none of the characters grew on me. It’s not so much that I didn’t like them, I simply didn’t care. And, thirdly, the pacing of the film seemed off – it was slow, slow, slow and a lukewarm meh at the end. It was neither mysterious, nor very thrilling.

All in all, this definitely isn’t a feel good film. Not even an average thriller to take the mind of the mundane. The intended suspense seemed to be overshadowed by the bleak message of how close we all are to losing everything and turning into the main protagonist.

 

Leave a comment